Laser what??

Sorry everybody this is a venting post.  Please disregard if uninterested.

In the morning, as I’m eating breakfast and making my lunch I usually have the TV on the morning news. Of course the plethora of local channels causes me to usually stick to one and never deviate. So I usually have KCRG TV-9 news; it’s the local ABC affiliate. Most days I have no problems with it. They read the news and give me pretty accurate weather info (which is what I’m mostly listening for).

But this morning I heard a story on the local news that just got my dander up. They spent two or three minutes talking about a “new” allergy therapy. Championed by Dr Terri Cooper from the Wholistic Wellness Center in Hiawatha, IA this new therapy is laser acupuncture. All the while they talked about this supposed therapy they showed this lady basically having a laser pointer shot at various points on her body. The main claim they made during the pre-recorded piece was that this could treat allergies. But during the actual broadcast, the anchor also added that they use the treatment for chronic illnesses and CANCER. Well that nearly made me spit out my Cheerios. Below I will lay out the problems with this “treatment.”

#1. I don’t want to get into ad hominem arguments, but the lady from the center they had in the story was Dr. Terri Cooper. ” Dr.” Cooper is the owner/director of the wellness center. I say “Dr.” because she is not an M.D. or a Ph.D.  She is a doctor of chiropractic.  Now I understand that they do go to go through a fair bit of schooling to earn that title, but the entire idea of chiropractic is based on false assumptions.  The idea that most (if not all) maladies of the human body could be caused by misalignment of the spine is just ludicrous.

#2. Acupuncture does not work.  Period.   Its been proven to have no benefit.  There are no special meridians or chi lines.

#3.It seems pretty convenient that most of what they treat are conditions that would come and go on their own. hmmm…

I would love to go over some of the other services they provide at this place, but that will have to wait.  I have an e-mail to write.

Leave a Reply

The Houston Cancer Quack

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

You Should Grow That!

How to, garden guides, garden recipes and tips on gardening in the south and NC

fromacountrycottage

trying to live as lightly as possible on our beautiful planet

The Slow Foods Mama

{ sowing seeds of sanity in an insane food system }

A Two Storey Home

Where Marriage and Healthy Living Meet

Less Junk; More Joy!

This blog is dedicated to documenting the transformation of a traditional american family (too much pizza, junk, and beer) to a healthier lifestyle. We're eating better and planting an organic garden. Join me as I learn to love this new lifestyle!

selfsufficientinthesuburbs

Journalling the journey from house to homestead in the suburbs.

Sarasin's thoughts.......

........ on many things............

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

Simply Primal Family

A Family's Real Food Journal

The Not-So Suburban Homestead Blog

Chronicles of a Gardening Family

ulcerativecolitismom

Our life with Ulcerative Colitis

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

planthoarder

a chaotic cottage gardener

Caramelize Life

Making life a little sweeter through food, travel and community

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

the doodle house

A gleeful account of the escapades of two 20-somethings, our dogs and a little house in Austin.

Farm City News

just another book about urban farming

