Planting Bare root Strawberries

Yesterday was probably the best day we’ve had around here all year.  The weather couldn’t have been better and I had a nice long list of garden tasks; what could be better?  It was also the day for the Backyard Abundance plant sale.  Last year I picked up a pack of ever-bearing strawberries and hope that they will start producing this year.  I talk about it in this post from 2012, i case anybody’s interested.  So this year was my chance to move into june-bearing strawberries.  The nice thing about june-bearing varieties is that they set all their fruit at roughly the same time.  This allows one to have a lot of strawberries all at once for making jams, jellys, and other products.  I have the Erligrow variety.  So I decided to do a little how to in case anybody else wants to try their hand at the bare root strawberries.  Enjoy.

The soil for strawberries needs to be fertile and well draining.  Strawberries do not like their feet wet.  My soil here is a combination of compost, topsoil, and peat.  Since strawberries are perennials its imporatant to have really good soil before you start as it is really hard to fix it once the plants are in.  I started by spacing my bareroot plants about 6-8 inches apart.

IMG_0097

Next I dug a hole only a couple of inches deep, but about 8 inches wide.  Then I trenched around the outside of the hole.  So I was let with a hill in the middle.IMG_0098

The crown of the plant goes right on the hill.  The crown of the strawberry is the part where the roots meet the leaf buds.  Now I spread the roots around the hole.  Next simply cover the roots and about half of the crown.  Its important not to cover the crown too deeply or else you will end up with rot and disease problems.  IMG_0099

Water the plants well and wait.  Its also good to add mulch to the beds to help conserve moisture and help keep the fruit off the bare soil.  Traditionally straw is used,hence strawberries, but you could use just about any light mulch out there.

OMG Its a video.  Yep, I’m moving into the 4th dimension and adding a video to my blog.  Its my video version of how to plant bare root strawberries.  I would love to know what everyone thinks.  Should I try more videos?  What do you think?

I’ve been busy with other things as well but I think those will wait for another post.  Thanks for reading and I hope that you might try your own hand at strawberries.  Good growing everybody.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Houston Cancer Quack

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

You Should Grow That!

How to, garden guides, garden recipes and tips on gardening in the south and NC

fromacountrycottage

trying to live as lightly as possible on our beautiful planet

The Slow Foods Mama

{ sowing seeds of sanity in an insane food system }

A Two Storey Home

Where Marriage and Healthy Living Meet

Less Junk; More Joy!

This blog is dedicated to documenting the transformation of a traditional american family (too much pizza, junk, and beer) to a healthier lifestyle. We're eating better and planting an organic garden. Join me as I learn to love this new lifestyle!

selfsufficientinthesuburbs

Journalling the journey from house to homestead in the suburbs.

Sarasin's thoughts.......

........ on many things............

quarteracrehome

Sustainible Living and farming on a Quarter Acre

Simply Primal Family

A Family's Real Food Journal

The Not-So Suburban Homestead Blog

Chronicles of a Gardening Family

ulcerativecolitismom

Our life with Ulcerative Colitis

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

planthoarder

a chaotic cottage gardener

Caramelize Life

Making life a little sweeter through food, travel and community

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

the doodle house

A gleeful account of the escapades of two 20-somethings, our dogs and a little house in Austin.

Farm City News

just another book about urban farming

